Mississippi Marks International Women’s Day
Front Royal, VA, March 15, 2018 – HLI lauds Mississippi for Passing Gestational Age Act
Mississippi’s Gestational Age Act, or Bill 1510, has now been signed by Governor Phil Bryant. The law takes effect immediately. Banning abortion after 15 weeks, it is the earliest state abortion limit in the United States. Passed by a very wide margin of 75-34 and 35-14 by the state house and senate respectively, it does allow abortion in cases of severe baby disability or mother’s health emergency, but doctors who violate the new law would lose their license, and women who do so could face charges for killing their unborn child. As it is, Mississippi only has one abortion center and requires OBGYNs to do abortion surgery. Less than four years ago the state had limited abortions to 20 weeks.
HLI wishes to acknowledge those involved in the passage of said legislation. HLI President Father Shenan J. Boquet has issued the following statement: “We commend and praise Mississippi for its heroic witness in limiting the violence against Nascent life. We hope the same leadership will have the courage and fortitude to protect the right to life of every unborn child. As Governor Phil Bryant said when he promising to sign the bill: ‘I want Mississippi to be the safest place in America for an unborn child.’”
Babies at 15 weeks already have a heartbeat, they move, they can sense light, their sex is determined. They can suck their thumb or make faces. The earliest premature infant to survive was born at 21 weeks, but this is a rarity. But abortions performed at 20 weeks or later are commonly referred to as “late-term,” as science has established babies feel pain at this age or even earlier. Astonishingly, the United States is one of only seven nations in the world where abortion is legal after 20 weeks’ gestation.
# # #
If you would like more information about this topic, please contact Deborah M. Piroch at 205-567-3270 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org.